Thursday, May 2, 2013

Council Boundaries

The Belfast Telegraph has produced the above map of the new look council boundaries, which were proposed today.

From first impressions would suggest that of the 11 new councils, it would appear 5 will be under Nationalist control (Derry & Strabane, Fermanagh & Omagh, Mid Ulster, Newry Mourne & Down and Belfast) and 5 will be under Unionist control (Causeway Coast & Glens, Mid & East Antrim, and Lisburn & Castlereagh).

Unionists may well have control of Armagh, Banbridge & Craigavon initailly but it appears to be a maginal council where the 'Others' may hold the balance of power.


  1. As for Banbridge, Armagh and Craigavon, as someone from this area I don't believe there would be too many pols who would be designated as 'Other'. APNI do not have a big foot print here, nor do anyone else. I would see this constituency actually radicalising in some way due to the fact that it so evenly split, the notion that one side may start to lose votes and all of a sudden be in the minority I think you would see all of the worst kind of communal politics about.